Foodgasm: Whole-wheat Double Chocolate Chip Muffins

Standard

When I get bored, I either shop online, or I experiment in the kitchen. Since I had indulged in way too much shopping in the past few weeks, I decided on the later. Plus, its lighter on the hubby’s wallet, not so much the waistline though.

I started off wanting try a new banana muffin recipe, came across a whole-wheat one. And turns out there is a whole world of baking that uses whole-wheat instead of the traditional flour or maida. After much browsing and drooling I settled on Whole-wheat Double Chocolate Muffins. I want to thank Lauren Zietsman of the blog A Full Measure of Happiness for the easy to bake, scrumptious muffins.

I really do wish I had better pictures to show off my creations, but so far I haven’t exactly mastered stirring and handling a camera simultaneously.

Ingredients

  • ½ cup butter
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 degree Celsius.
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat together butter, sugar, baking powder, salt, vanilla extract and eggs, and beat them until light and fluffy. I used a hand-held mixer whisk, which makes this task a whole lot easier. Also, I did not melt the butter, just let it sit outside for a while to make it soft.
  3. Add flour, cocoa powder and milk, and mix until the ingredients have just about blended.
  4. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Spoon the mix into the muffin cups and pop the tray in the oven for approximately 25 minutes.
  6. To check if the muffin has been baked through, push a toothpick in the center, and if it comes out clean, you have a batch ready.

Note that as the muffins cook, they will rise and crack and the top will be slightly harder than the rest of the body.

And finally, the best way to eat them: fresh out of the oven and with a generous serving of vanilla ice-cream.

Do try and let me know how they turn out for you.

Leave a Reply

