TV Heaven: Jhalak Dhikhlaja Jaa

Standard

Ever since I was a kid I LOVED dancing! My sister and I pretty much knew all the steps to any hit Bollywood number. The craze ended when I came to the US and sorta lost touch with dancing. During my first year of work, I remember having plenty of  un-eventual nights in front of the T.V., and that is where I stumbled upon “Dancing with the Stars.” I have been hooked ever since!

It’s the 10th and All-Star season of Dancing with the Stars (DWTS);  it has all of my favorite celebrity dancers from the years. The thought on missing out on fabulous dancing is a bit sad, but not too much because India has its’ own dancing with celebrities show called Jhalak Dhikhla Jaa!!! The format between the shows is almost identical, celebrities are paired up with professional dancers and then complete for title of best dancer. The best part of the Indian version is the judge, actually one in particular: Madhuri Dixit! And for anyone who grew up on Bollywood, how can you not know Madhuri?

Dancing Queen: Madhuri Dixit

What I love even more about Jhalak Dhikhla Jaa are the endless special appearances of Bollywood movies stars on the show. It’s almost a standard marketing and PR strategy in Indian films ; movie stars make appearances on shows prior to a major movie release. For me being a bollywood junkie, this is TV heaven. I can’t tell you how excited I get these stars come to the shows and actually dance with the participants or audience member.

Ranbir Kapoor, Bollywood star shaking leg with Madhuri Dixit

Such interactions you might not witness on the US show. I would actually like to see Len Goodman, one the esteemed judges on DWTS, actually shake a leg with a contestant.

Len Goodman: Judge on DWTS

4 responses »

  1. Hi Swara! I will try to keep you posted with recaps of the dances…thank goodness for You Tube, hopefully you can still get your DWTS fix there.

Leave a Reply

