Starbucks in India

Standard

We have Starbucks!!! Yay!!! I so missed the lattes, frappacinos, and ability to order drinks by saying “tall” or “venti.” Starbucks was an essential part of my life in the U.S. and Thailand. Starbucks made it’s grand debut at the historic Elphinstone Building in Fort, Mumbai mid October. Since then, two more branches have opened, one at the Oberoi Hotel and another one at the majestic Taj Hotel.

Starbucks Entrance Sign

Starbucks Entrance Sign

It was my first visit to the Starbucks here, and it was awesome! I was absolutely delighted to be able to order my tall non-fat vanilla latte. The excitement to taste my drink was indescribable. I had the first sip and it was PERFECT!

Tall Non-Fat Vanilla Latte

Tall Non-Fat Vanilla Latte

What I loved even more about the Starbucks here was the interior. The grand and regal architecture of the Elphinstone building was combined with the minimalistic design the Starbucks usually sport. All the tables in the two story store were packed; you could witness meetings, friends chit-chatting, and some even browsing the internet using the free Wi-Fi that Starbuck offered.

I had a chance to engage in a fun and quick conversation with one of the baristas. He kindly offered me a dark roast coffee tasting. When I asked if he had any light roast coffee available, he very sweetly replied that he has been with Starbucks only for a month and is learning all about coffee. He said please come again next time and I will be sure to provide you with a coffee of your liking. He also mentioned that working at Starbucks, he felt like he was part of the Starbuck family.

The barista that gave me the coffee tasting

The barista that gave me the coffee tasting

I spent a good 30 minutes at Starbucks just soaking the atmosphere in. I didn’t try any of the food, but they seemed offer a good spread from cookies and muffins to grilled paninis and sandwiches.

Oh Starbucks (and Tata-Starbucks got entry into India via an alliance with Tata Enterprises)-how I missed you, and am glad you are somewhere nearby:)

Interior of Starbucks @ Fort, Mumbai

Interior of Starbucks @ Fort, Mumbai

Interior of Starbucks @ Fort, Mumbai

Interior of Starbucks @ Fort, Mumbai

2 responses »

  1. The interior reminds me of the interior at Aladdins in Fairlawn, not the one in Middleburg! Glad you are able to get your fix! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

