Why I Run

Standard

Why do I run? Somedays I run so I can listen to new songs on my iPod, other days it is so I can eat more of my favorite food. A lot of days I run so I can tell myself that it will keep me in shape. The marathon is done and over with, so why do I find myself waking up at 6 (okay, 6:30 am) and clocking in at least 3-4 miles daily? running

I have realized that at the end of the day, I am running for myself. In India, it is not that common to see people running on the roads. You might get a few stares (well, this is common for everything in India), but this doesn’t bother me one bit. Running has become a part of who I am; I actually miss it on days when I have taken too long of a break.

A lot of days are a struggle, the want to keep stopping, the want to take a shorter route, the want to not get out of bed at all. However, it is precisely this that makes the experience so much more rewarding-the fact that I did wake up, strapped my laces, and crossed the front gate of the house. With running, like a lot of things in life, you can’t give up. It is something I try to apply to other instances, but not sure if I do too good a job at it. Along with enstilling discpline,running has become that one moment when I am pretty much free of anything and everything.

Yes, all the cool gadgets, running tracker, long distance running shoes are benefits of the journey. It’s neat to have a phone that tells me the distance I have run, the space of my run, and shoes that provide ample cushioning to my feet. But I think I can run without it. Running to me is all about personal strength, motivation, and perseverance. There is no particular skill required or training required-you set your own pace and rhythm. It’s all about you and what you want to achieve out of the experience.

So why do I run-I run because I genuinely enjoy it. A lot of days, it’s just me and the road, focusing on taking the next step and not stopping, and there is nothing wrong with that 🙂

2 responses »

  1. That is very attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and sit up for in the hunt for more of your excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website
    in my social networks

Leave a Reply

