Home is Incomplete without Food

Standard

So, I am in Thailand for a while and since I have landed have basically been eating like there is no tomorrow. Thai food is relatively easy and faster to cook when compared to Indian, but sometimes the lack of ingredients takes away that authentic taste.

Phat Thai

Phat Thai

My first dish was Phat Thai at the airport itself at 6 in the morning, and lunch was Kapao Kai, known in English as Basil Chicken, and it is one dish that I can possibly eat every single day. I do try making some of the simpler dishes back in Mumbai such as Tom Yum soup, Pasta Tom Yum, Som Tam, and Boonsen.

Macaroni Tom Yum

Macaroni Tom Yum

Som Tam or Papaya Salad

Som Tam or Papaya Salad

The streets of Bangkok are a foodies paradise, and here you will find everything from a meal for under a dollar to one that will set you back by a couple hundred. And both ends of the spectrum are an experience in itself. One place I would definitely recommend is Vertigo at Bnayan Tree. And since the city is also a shoppers paradise, the malls are packed with unlimited food options as well, from donuts to gourmet.

Dragon Fruit

Dragon Fruit

Being a tropical country, fruit here is quite abundant as well and most are available year round. In India that was mainly apples and pears. Here I have been eating rose apples, sweet raw mangoes, ripe yellow ones, yummy guavas, and longan.

Since I am going to be home for a while, my plan is to learn the dishes that I crave the most in India from my maid. And hopefully I can replicate them once I am back in Mumbai.

Kutiyo Naam

Kutiyo Naam

Learning today: Kutiyo Naam.

2 responses »

  1. i was so hoping you would have a recipe for Kutiyo Naam here 😉 Btw, another must try is Spice Market at Four Seasons Hotel in Bkk. 😀

Leave a Reply

