Movie Master Weekend: Hangover 3 & Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani

Standard

Hello, Hello, Hello!! Summer is here (well, almost over in India as we are preparing for the monsoons to start) and unfortunately I did miss a lot of the summer movies as a result of training, but this weekend reversed that trend! I was able to watch both Hangover 3 and Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani. Both movies were amazing! I can’t remember the last time I was able to watch two movies in the theatre and both movies being great. While Hangover 3 was a the complete, leave your brain behind comedy, Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani was a the perfect Indian chick flick with great songs, sizzling chemistry between the lead pair and gorgeous scenery.

Hangover III

Hangover III

So an interesting tidbit about Hangover-I actually saw Hangover 2 two years ago during a quick trip to Chicago with my husband (we were just dating then) and even though I didn’t find Hangover 2 as entertaining as the first part, the movie has been embedded in my mind because of it’s tie to our Chicago trip. For me, Hangover 3 was much much better than the 2nd one. There was a decent storyline to follow and not just some crazy scenes thrown in together. Bradley Cooper, Zach Galifianakis, and Ed Helms are best in roles that are pretty much tailor made for them. Ken Jeong as Leslie Chow is definitely the show stealer in the movie. Yes, the movie does take the Wolf Pack to Vegas, but there are some interesting twists and turns in the screenplay that saves it from being identical to the first movie. The movie made me laugh out loud, cringe at some scenes, and even get a tiny bit emotional (just watch it and you will understand what I am alluding to).

Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani

Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani

Now, having watched one movie in the theatre for a weekend might have been sufficient, but my husband and I found ourselves back in the sold out theatre for the screening of Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani. I have been dying to watching this movie since the first promo was aired back in April. The combination of Ranbir, Ayan Murkerji, and Karan Johar (the same team that made Wake Up Sid-one of my favorite movies) was the key driver and they didn’t disappoint second time around either. Without giving out too much of the story, Yeh Jaaani Hai Deewani basically chronicles the life of Bunny (Ranbir Kapoor), his two best friends (perfectly essayed by Kalki and Aditya Roy Kapoor), and Naina (Deepika Pakodune) over a span of 8 years. The movie can be a bit predictable, but director Ayan Mukerji keeps its fresh and interesting with giving the audience some great songs, witty humor, profound messages on friendship, and sizzling chemistry between Ranbir and Deepika. Ranbir carries this movie on his shoulders (I know I can’t refrain from using these cliches)-just watch his expressions in the song “Ghagra” and you will know what I am referring to.

Did I find watching two movies a bit too much? Nope, not at all! In a silly way, I find myself more connected to the real world after having indulged myself in a weekend of just crazy and absolutely fun movies. One the of the most awesome things in life is watching a good movie and this weekend I did just that….twice!!!

And if you all still need a validation to watch both movies…Go for them!!!

Leave a Reply

