Go Goa

Standard
Pit stops along the way

Pit stops along the way

Hubby and I decided for a quick weekend getaway to Goa!! It was totally an unplanned trip, but it was totally it. Before you remind me that it is the rainy season, let me say that Goa is still fun in the rains. What did our trip consist of? A gorgeous drive and tons of food! I had visited Goa with my friends back in 2010 and during that time I really did not understand the craze for Goan cuisine. This trip changed that; we ate in these hole in the wall places that served the most amazing seafood.

I feel like it is my responsibility to share all the places to eat. As this was a short trip, we mainly roamed around North Goa and therefore these food joints are regulated to that vicinity.

1) Viva Goa (Calangute Beach): This is literally a hole in the wall joint that served the most amazing Bombay Duck (no, it’s not duck but a local fish that melts in your mouth). We also had a chance to taste an authentic Goan dish of Chicken Xacuti. Now, I am not one that eats a lot of naan, but I couldn’t help myself to have more naan to go with the chicken xacuti. The combination was just mind blowing.

2) Florentine (somewhere between Baga & Panjim): I wish I could give you more location specifics so you could find this place, but I wasn’t paying attention to the roads at all. All I can say is that we parked our car on the main street and walked up this dark, narrow alley. There were no lights; the scene was befitting a suspense movie. I felt that somebody could jump out at us anytime. Our walk quickly brought us to the forefront of a two story house that had the sign Florentine on it. There was a long line of other hungry souls waiting to get their hands on the infamous Chicken Cafreal. Service was quite speedy, so we only waited approximately 10 minutes for a table. As we were starving, we went all out and ordered Masala Calamari, Fish Curry, and Chicken Cafreal. The food was served in another 10 minutes, and our plates were swiped clean in another 2-3 minute 🙂 If I ever get directions to this place, I will update the post!

3) Infantaria (Baga Beach): I loved brunch places in the U.S. There was nothing better than stuffing myself with eggs, toast, pancakes, roasted mushrooms, etc. Brunching at Infantaria was all of that and more. In addition to having our stuffed omelettes, we also feasted on Ham Quiche, Beef Samosas, and Goan Sausage Roll.

In a move that is very unlike me, I don’t have a lot of pictures of the food ate. We were too hungry to wait even for a second. But in lieu of that leaving you all with a few pictures of our gorgeous drive.

Climbing the Ghats (Mountains)

Climbing the Ghats (Mountains)

 

Go Goa

Go Goa

Ham Quiche

Ham Quiche

Amboli Ghat

Amboli Ghat

 

Leave a Reply

