Vanilla Cupcakes

Standard

I baked a batch of my tried and tested vanilla cupcakes when my baby turned three weeks old last Friday. As with the brownies they have a quick and easy recipe to follow which I have had to share with just about everyone who has tasted them.

As you can make out, I love to bake. It requires a precision and if the steps are followed to the tee you are guaranteed success. Here is the recipe for all of you with a sweet tooth.

A little too adventurous with the toppings

A little too adventurous with the toppings

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup milk

Steps

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Add the mix into the cup cake holders, making sure to fill only 3/4 of the cup.
  4. Put it in the oven for 20-25 minutes.
  5. Check with a toothpick to see if the inner section has baked.
  6. Once done allow to cool on a wire rack.
  7. Cover with chocolate icing and sprinkles before you serve.
Sprinkles are the best!

Sprinkles are the best!

I make my icing by mixing powdered whipped cream with cold water and then adding cocoa powder to the mix. I have also used Nutella and melted baking chocolate. The choice is yours!

My next major culinary adventure: chocolate layer cake. Hope it is not too ambitious of me. Wish me luck!

Apologies for the bad picture quality-my camera images accidentally got deleted, and all I have left are the ones from my phone.

Leave a Reply

