The Simple Pleasures

Standard

A month into teaching and its been a whirlwind ride. From the first week to now, every day has been a new experience. More than anything it has been a learning experience. Getting to know each and every one of my students, what they like and do not like, seeing them work together in teams and watching them try and learn in class. It been a lot of trial and error for me;

My Math Vocab Wall, Team Chart (shields are the Harry Potter Houses) and Reading Strategies Poster.

My Math Vocab Wall, Team Chart (shields are the Harry Potter Houses) and Reading Strategies Poster.

what makes perfect sense in my mind and on paper doesn’t necessarily mean that it will go that way in the class. Actually some of my best planned lessons have flopped because I forgot to account to what possibly could go wrong in class and ended up with 40 10-12 year old jumping on tables. There have been days when I have left school extremely frustrated, tired and even angry. However, one thing that I have come to cherish is the unconditional love from my students. They want to help me in anything and everything, from carrying my file folder to bag to sticking up all our class charts. Somedays it can be a lot, just imagine 40 kids screaming “Didi, Didi, Didi” right when you walk into school just because they are so excited to see you and help you. It is way different from walking into my HR, recruiting world.

Our class jobs board, we have Prefects (class monitors) and Keepers (class cleanliness leaders). The students vote for their leaders every two weeks.

Our class jobs board, we have Prefects (class monitors) and Keepers (class cleanliness leaders). The students vote for their leaders every two weeks.

When the best laid lesson plans fail and all my class behavior strategies are not working, anger and frustration is just an understatement. However, my students change my attitude as quickly as they caused it. Each kid still wants to give me a high five and hug when they leave class. One hug and high five is enough to remove all that fatigue. Such a simple gesture from these little kids has been the best reward.
Leaving all of you with some pictures of my class and notes from my students.

Best Notes (Owl Mail as we call them in Class)

Best Notes (Owl Mail as we call them in Class)

3 responses »

  1. The unconditional love is what will keep you going day in and out and in-fact, you wouldn’t even realize how quickly you would become addicted to it. Now that my fellowship, i miss it so much. Having gone through it myself, I can totally connect with what you are experiencing. 🙂 Make the most of your two years and Best of luck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

