New Year. New Resolutions

Standard

Pallavi: Reviewing my last year’s resolutions, I have come to the conclusion that I did not do too well. I have definitely started to stress less over small issues. But I am definitely the type of parent I vowed never to be.

The past year was definitely a big change for me, going from just being me to being completely responsible for another human being. It definitely has its challenges but I wouldn’t trade it for anything in this world.

So, here goes my new year resolutions for 2014:

  1. I will learn to drive a manual car and get my license.
  2. I hope to teach my son tolerance and patience.
  3. I hope to be a good parent.
  4. I hope to start speaking Marathi at home. I understand it completely and already speak to my maid’s daughter.
Mommy and Baby

Mommy and Baby Dressed for Diwali

Hubby and Me

Hubby and Me at my sister’s wedding

Swara: Where did the last year go? Well wait, there were times that I thought the year would never end. As part of a class activity, I made my students write new year resolutions. They did an awesome job at it; most of them wrote about how they wanted to become better readers, improve their English, be more honest and start doing homework everyday. I also pulled out my resolutions from last year and I utterly failed at completing any one of them! I never learned how to make Indian desserts-actually haven’t made any desserts in the past year, nor did I explore India as much as I would have liked to.

As Pallavi mentioned, 2013 bought a lot of new things for us…baby, new career, living in India (readjustment to India), but nonetheless it was exciting. We might have not achieved our resolutions, but we accomplished others goals. So what is the harm in setting new resolutions, we might achieve them this year around 🙂

1) Learn to speak Punjabi (I spoke 3 lines for my brother-in-law’s wedding and I think I did an okay job)
2) Enjoy the simple pleasures of life
3) More travel (not restricted to India)
4) I have adjusted to the pace in India, but there is a long road ahead of me

Here is to the new and exciting 2014!!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

