Teaching: Magicians of 5B

Standard

It’s February! In two months, my first school year as a teacher will come to an end. In a month’s time all my 5th graders will be giving their final exams and gearing up for 6th grade. Wow, where did the time go? Back in June, I thought I had an endless amount with the students, and now I am constantly wondering where did the time go?

Term 2 of the school year really just zips pass you-with all the extra circular activities, Sports Day/Annual Day/Republic Day, etc. time spent in the classroom is minimal. I was so worried about finishing required content with my students, that I actually overlooked some of the change they were displaying. It was not till a close friend and co-fellow pointed them out that I actually stepped back to notice them.

P.T. Time

P.T. Time

My kids might not be displaying the best math mastery or reading fluency, things that I am not undermining, but they are showing signs of embodying more important characteristics.

Science Class experiment with magnets

Science Class experiment with magnets

The magicians have started forming groups themselves for P.T. without any fights (back in June I would have the whole school complaining about my class in P.T.), coming to decisions as to who will be team captain, ensuring everyone gets a turn, skipping their own lunch to help a team mate, to talking about which values will help them achieve their long term goals, and asking about colleges and new topics beyond the borders of the textbooks.

Vandana Chavan visits the class and shares her knowledge of being a global citizen

Vandana Chavan visits the class and shares her knowledge of being a global citizen

These might be small and inconsistent changes, but they are glimmers of hope. We all know that everyone is much more beyond what a grade shows, but sometimes when you constantly pushed for high mastery, you overlook these small but powerful developments. I am having fun in the classroom with the magicians and I hope I continue to step back and notice the students beyond just the marks.

Leave a Reply

