Bollywood 2014: Films to Watch Out For

Standard

I am a self proclaimed Bollywood junkie! In my childhood, and to a certain extent even now, I can tell you about about all the latest movies, their directors, who is sorta dating who, and what the red carpet verdict for a person was. With the Cannes 2014 in full swing, and the Hollywood “Summer” just starting, what better time to look at some of the promising movies Bollywood has to offer.

The first half of the year was actually quite uneventful. There were actually only 2 movies that I thoroughly enjoyed: Hasee Tho Phasee and Queen. Two States and Highway come next in my list. But with the “big” directors like Anurag Kashyap, Raju Hirani, Dibarkar Banerjee, and Farah Khan all having films lined up for films this year, it will surely be an interesting and exciting year at the movies.

So I present my list of movies to watch out for in 2014

1) P.K. (Mid-December)

When did Raju Hirani ever go wrong? I can still watch MunnaBhai M.B.B.S, Lage Raho MannuBhai and 3 Idiots numerous times. I mean I even know the lines to some of the scenes, especially the one from 3 Idiots when Kareena sneaks into Aamir’s room and jokes about all the funny names Gujarati food has 🙂 With Aamir and Raju Hirani teaming up again, one surely just expects MAGIC on the screen. Anuskha Sharma joining the duo just makes it more intriguing. Another Aamir movie that I await for!!

 Aamir Khan


Aamir Khan

 

2) Bombay Velvet (November End/December)

Directed by Anurag Kashyap and set in the 1950s is this drama about love, violence, and jazz. Now when, at least in the past 20 years, did India have jazz a theme? Anurag Kashyap has said that he wanted to make this film for the past 9 years! now that must be one crazy interesting story! I think Ranbir is a fabulous actor and I have actually missed him on screen since the monster hit of 2013, Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewani. There is quite a few stories revolving around this movie- from Katrina and Virat frequenting their significant others on the movie sets to Anuskha new “make-up” technique for her lips. But in all honesty, even more than the movie, I am actually waiting for the songs 🙂

 

3) Bobby Jasoos (July 4)

Vidya Balan donning the role of a detective. I love detective dramas/thrillers and so wished that Bollywood turned out more of these. I loved Talaash and Kahaani! The movie description of being a detective had me sold from get go!

First Look of Bobby Jasoos

First Look of Bobby Jasoos

4) Bang Bang (October)

The official Bollywood remake of an unnoticed Knight and Day , starring Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, with Hrithik Roshan and Katrina Kaif. I know I differ from several people when I say that I actually enjoyed Knight and Day and will watch the movie for the story. Most people I know will probably go for this to see the intense chemistry between Bollywood’s most good looking actors, Hrithik Roshan and Katrina Kaif….and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.

 

5) Detective Byomkesh Banerjee (December/Feb 2015)

I know this movie might not see the silver screen till next year, but I just wanted to let everyone know about it! Another detective drama is there!!! YEEEESSS!!! I want to see how Dibarkar Banerjee brings alive the first Indian detective.

So these are my top 5 Bollywood movies to watch out for. Do you agree to disagree?

 

Leave a Reply

