Mumbai Darshan

Standard

It has been a while since I have posted-just been a bit busy with moving back to Mumbai with my baby. And going from a joint family setting to nuclear with a baby is difficult work. Then it was my brother in law’s engagement prep time. Finally, my baby is asleep for the night and I have a couple of hours to my self.

This past weekend my cousin and her husband were down in Mumbai for a short visit. And the best thing was that it did not rain, which made it possible for us to visit all the sights. And I am a little embarrassed to admit that I had actually not visited some of them myself.

On Friday, we ended up just picking them up from Powai and going for dinner before heading home. We packed Saturday with a visit to Haji Ali, Gateway of India, some street shopping at Colaba and dinner at Pizza Express.

Haji Ali

Haji Ali

Selfie time at Gateway

Selfie time at Gateway

Horse Buggy ride

Horse Buggy ride

Sunday we visited Siddhivinayak, which is considered by many as the guardian diety of the city. For anyone who is planning to visit, I highly recommend paying the additional amount for the “VIP” entrance. The line easily had a 1000 people waiting to pay their respect, and with a baby we definitely did not want to be waiting a couple of hours for our turn. Next we headed to Palladium for lunch-and I must say everyone needs to try the United Café there. All of us loved the food! And the service for excellent. The shopping however was disappointing-no sizes, messy bins, and long lines. After that it was celebrity house spotting time, followed by catching the sunset at Juhu Chowpatty albeit from the poolside comfort of the Sea Princess Hotel. Dinner was a very Mumbai style Pav Bhaji from the popular Amar Food Center where the food is brought to your car.

My cousin and her hubby headed back today evening, and I must thank them for an excellent weekend.

Leave a Reply

